Home » Distractions from My Angst » Food » Fight the Fade: Things I’m Going to Do

Fight the Fade: Things I’m Going to Do

This is a list of things I will do before the year is out. These aren’t to be confused with resolutions, whose purpose is as appealing as a dry, hard wheat biscuit (do this, it’s good for you, c’mon, choke it down) but rather these are things that I a) want to do and b) self-improvement is icing on top, not the point.  When my momentum slows, everything inside of me stops. Right now, waiting for the rebuilt house, and waiting for my apartment, and waiting for my vacation, and waiting for the autumn (my favorite season, and one I haven’t experienced in six years due to Florida’s tropical climate) is keeping me from doing. I want to do.  So here are five Things I Will Do before 2013 is over:

I will go blonde.

I’ve always had really dark hair thanks to the Cherokee blood a few generations away. Usually I’ll put on some dark brown highlights to lighten it up and to keep me from looking like Morticia Adams, although one year I dyed it red just to spite my mother (sorry Mom).  However, I’ve never gone blonde. And I think I want to, just once, so I can say I did. I’m tempted to keep it safe by copping to Lana Del Rey’s auburn with blonde highlights, but at the same time, I sorta just want to say “fuck it” and go full out True Romance platinum.

I will take a kickboxing, pilates, and yoga class.

As I’ve mentioned before, I hate sports. But I am also really good at doing what I’m told, so I’m thinking I might not actively despise taking classes. I don’t want to commit to doing all three every week, but I want to try each of the above. Kickboxing because I’m going to pretend that I’m beating up people I’m mad at, pilates because that’s what Mila Kunis does and I do whatever she tells me to do, and yoga because I think it might help with some of my tension problems around my neck. Either way, the Y near my new apartment has classes. So I’m going to try all of them.

I will create a piece of art to put on the wall of my new apartment.

I used to draw and paint all the time. There was no real reason I stopped, except I got a laptop, and the time I spent drawing (TV time!)  was now spent with a laptop in my lap. About 70% of all my old pieces burned in the fire, but that’s okay. I can make new ones!

I will learn to make homemade chicken broth.

This is one of those things I’ve always wanted to do, and never bothered. Perhaps it’s because it involves chicken bones, and that seems sort of scary, or perhaps when I usually make soup I’m already starving to death and don’t want to wait for 6 hours to eat. Either way, this seems to be a good trick to keep in one’s recipe file, and having massive tubs of broth in the freezer ready to be jazzed up sounds like a great value in comparison to buying 9234829 boxes of premade broth.

 

I may write up more as I think of them. Either way, this is a new venture – and one I’ll report back on as I check them off!

 

6 thoughts on “Fight the Fade: Things I’m Going to Do

  1. I’ve always wanted blond “Dixie Chicks” hair. But I’m waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too scared.

    I can’t wait to see what you come up with.

  2. Pingback: Would you like fries with your vengeful ghost? | Banjos and Bordeaux

Leave a Reply

