Home » Me » Moving In, Moving On

Moving In, Moving On

Yesterday I got the keys to my new apartment, and promptly got severely nauseous. While there’s a stomach bug going around, I think it has more to do with the concept of permanency than any genuine illness.  I’ve always had a dislike of putting down ties; there’s no tragic backstory to explain my distaste toward commitment. I just don’t like pending obligations (or yard work).

While an apartment with a year-long lease barely seems to be commitment at all, for me, it’s pretty big. I’ve spent a lot of my life running around with my belongings in a cardboard box, and purchasing Real Furniture literally weighs me down. It’s exciting, sure, but it means that for a while: here I am.

My list of places, unabridged: Huntsville, AL to Dallas, TX

Dallas, TX to Huntsville, AL

Huntsville, AL to Fredericksburg, VA

Fredericksburg, VA to Huntsville, AL

Huntsville, AL to Tuscaloosa, AL

Tuscaloosa, AL to Lake Buena Vista, FL

Lake Buena Vista FL – move three times within LBV, and then: to Davenport, FL

Davenport, FL to Huntsville AL (and move three times once in Huntsville)

…and that’s not counting my moves to  and from England.

I’m phenomenal at having my foot half-out the door. I function best with an escape route. It almost certainly trickles down to my interpersonal relationships, but I’m not drunk or feeling chatty, so I’ll leave it at that.  Bottom line is, I’ve bought real, wooden, solid furniture. I’m attempting to put down roots. I’m going to be a potato, guys.

But I still wouldn’t mind moving to Santa Fe.

5 thoughts on “Moving In, Moving On

  1. Now I’m singing Santa Fe from Newsies.

    But really, I understand. I’m ready to leave again too. It seems I get about 2 years in somewhere and then I’m antsy, ready for a change, eager to be some place else.

    • I’m a homebody when I’m *at* home… but necessity has made me accustomed to moving around a lot, I think. It’s sort of exciting when you get over the initial crippling terror!

      Oh gosh, thank you so much! I’m honored! 🙂 I’ll head over there to learn more!

      • We just moved to a new area last year. I was a brand-new bride in a place where I knew nobody and was completely broke. I was incredibly homesick until we finally got settled and met some new people. I guess I do love it now, but now I don’t want to move again because I’m settled. I like my comfort zone. My husband loves exploring new places, so he’ll probably keep me from never leaving here again. Lol.

Leave a Reply

